Back to All Events

Celebrating 20 Years of Art

Dennis Fehr, STARE BACK, digital print

Dennis Fehr, STARE BACK, digital print

Celebrating 20 Years of Art

In honor of its twentieth anniversary, LHUCA has invited over one hundred artists who have contributed to the history of its campus to contribute a piece of art for this exhibition. The diversity of this collection speaks to the achievement of this space as a catalyst for providing unique visions of art to the Lubbock community.

Key to the success of this organization were the efforts of Louise Hopkins Underwood and Neal Hanslik, who headed a group that researched locations and art centers in the local surroundings.

The origin of the main building begins with its transformation from the City of Lubbock Fire Administration building and Firehouse #1 into a non-profit, multi-disciplinary art center in 2000. 

The four main galleries of the center host over 5,000 sq. ft. of exhibition space, and functioned as a beginning to LHUCA's expanding campus. 
-Christian Conrad


Participating Artists:

Cecila Adams

Maisie Marie Alford

Toni Arnett

Victoria Marie Bee

Jim Bertram

Betty Blevins

David Bondt 

Nancye Hudgins Briggs

Patricia Brown

Harold Browning

Harrison Bucy

Virginia Burrell

Marilee Echols Bybee

Shannon Cannings

William Cannings

Andrew Carrizales

Jean Caslin

John Chinn 

Joe Clifford

Christian Conrad

Linda Cullum

Kathy Davies

James T. Davis

Hannah Dean

Ken Dixon

Kara Donatelli

Stacy Elko

Benna Ellis

La Gina Fairbetter

Dennis Fehr

Linda Fisher

Carol Flueckiger

John Franklin

Tina Fuentes

Robin Dru Germany

Hugh Gibbons

B.C. Gilbert

JoBeth Gilliam

George Gray

Jean C. R. Grimes

Jennifer Hernandez

Tom Hicks

Valerie Komkov Hill

Margaret K. Hodgson

Carol Howell

Betty Jenkins

James W. Johnson

Jon Johnson

Kathy Kelly

Nathalie Kelley

Carol Koenig

Ellie Kreneck

Lynwood Kreneck

David Lamb-Vines

Laura Lewis

Ken Little

Anne Longo

Mike Maines

Pat Maines

Yulia Makarova

Andrew Martin

Ann McDonald

Mica McGuire

Mike Meister

Yvonne Garro Mendoza

Kathy Moody

June Musick

Susan Nall

Dyan Newton

Angelyn Nicholson

Irby Pace

Beth Pennington

Chad Plunket

Erika Pochybova

Catherine Prose

Judy Connell Robertson

Donna Rose

Joyce Runyan

Annalee Schubert

Donniece Smith

Edward Spence

Hanne Spence

Ellen Stanley

Lyn Stoll

Bo Tan

Steve Teeters

Kathryn Thomas

Jerry R. Thompson

Ashton Thornhill

Tornado Gallery Larry Simmons and Tony Greer

Janis Hubble Vanderpool

Rick Vanderpool

James Watkins

Gale Webb

Jami White

Jonathan Whitfill

Jeff F. Wheeler

Kathy Whiteside

Leada Woods

Sang-Mi Yoo

Veronica Young